Humphreys Oval in Kimbe to host Round 9 Cup Game


Kimbe in the West New Britain Province has been given the nod to host their first 2020 Digicel Cup game when the Cutters take on Bintangor Goroka Lahanis in Round 9 of the country’s premier rugby league competition this Sunday September 6, 2020 at the Humphreys oval.

And Kokopo get their second opportunity to see their home team Agmark Rabaul Gurias play Kroton Hela Wigmen on Saturday September 5, 2020 at Kalabond oval.

Kick off times is 2.00pm on both days. Ticket prices, points of sale and numbers of spectators allowed will be made known locally in Kimbe and Kokopo respectively before this Friday September 4, 2020.

“The Humphreys Oval in Kimbe is in good condition and I am confident the ground staff and Kimbe Cutters management together with the West New Britain people will observe and comply with the strict Banis protocols requirements,” PNGNRLC Manager Stanley Hondina said. “Kokopo fans get to see their 2nd Digicel Cup game after successfully hosting the round 7 game against PRK Mendi Muruks at Kalabond oval.”

He reminded both venue staff and Franchises to advise their supporters to strictly comply with the protocol requirements.

“I cannot stress enough, the importance of adhering to the protocols set to run the Digicel competition this year,” Hondina said. “Let the Goroka incident be a lesson to all that the consequences of breaching any or all parts of the Banis protocols has a huge impact on our sponsors, partners and stakeholders including our supporters.”

Meanwhile Port Moresby and Lae will see two Double headers this Sunday September 6, 2020 with the 1st games kicking off at 1.00pm and the 2nd games at 3.15pm at both venues.

Photo Credit: Kimbe Cutters

The 2020 Digicel Cup Round 9 Draw

Saturday September 5, 2020

  • 2.00pm Agmark Rabaul Gurias vs Kroton Hela Wigmen – Kalabond Oval, Kokopo

Sunday September 6, 2020

  • 2.00pm Kimbe Cutters vs Bintangor Goroka Lahanis – Humphreys Oval, Kimbe
  • 1.00pm Wamp Nga Mt Hagen Eagles vs EPG Enga Mioks- Lae League Ground
  • 3.15pm Lae Snax Tigers vs PRK Mendi Muruks – Lae League Ground
  • 1.00pm PRK Gulf Isou vs Moni Plus NCDC Pom Vipers SJGS, Port Moresby
  • 3.15pm GRL Central Dabaris vs JPG Waghi Tumbes – SJGS, Port Moresby


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here