PNGBUZZ Rugby League Round Preview: Aug 1

By our Resident PNGBUZZ Rugby League Expert


Digicel Cup Final Round

The Lae Snax Tigers have roared ahead of the pack to claim the Minor premiership flag for the 2019 Digicel Cup season, with the last game of regular season coming up this weekend.

The top four positions are locked in with JPG Wahgi Tumbe claiming second, Agmark Gurias in third and the Bintangor Lahanis rounding off the four.

Fifth place Wamp NGA Hagen Eagles are just in ahead of the EPG Mioks closing off the six places.

The bottom two are not yet set as they depend on the outcome of a few games.

Seventh place Kroton Hela Wigmen may sneak into the six if the Mioks go down to the Gurias in Kokopo. However the result would very much depend on their own outcome against a strong but inconsistent Central Dabari.

Snax Tigers host the Lahanis which is now a formality – a grudge match nonetheless as their last game ended in a dispute. Vipers and Eagles will be wanting to display their features, more so the Eagles aiming to cement a finals birth.

Tumbe will want to contain an exciting Kimbe Cutters in Kimbe who put on a great effort last weekend pushing NCDC Vipers to the edge before going down.

Isou and Muruks will lament on the rues of a season of missed opportunities to move forward.

Intrust Super Cup Round 20

PNG Hunters, now sitting second last on the ladder, travel to Townsville to visit Jack Manski Oval – the home of the Townsville Blackhawks.

The Blackhawks, in 4th place are well placed and moving to gel well before season ends.

Hunters have a little movement with Bland Abavu making a return to the team. Nicky Hasu moving to Hooker.

Traditionally a well fought game, the Hunters have won 6 of their 9 meets.

Expect a good PNG crowd to support the Hunters in one of their rare tours this year to the North of Qld.

PNGBUZZ Prediction: Blackhawks to win.

The full Hunters 20-man squad is:

1. Terry WAPI
2. Junior RAU
3. Brendon NIMA
4. Adex WERA
5. Brendon GOTUNO
6. Ase BOAS
7. Justin YOKA
8. Moses MENINGA – Captain
9. Nick HASU
10. Stanton ALBERT
11. McKenzie YEI
13. Kevin APPO
14. Sailas GAHUNA
15. Gairo KAPANA
16. Bland ABAVU
17. Enock MAKI
18. Smith SIVIRI
19. Woods KAWAGE
20. Wawa PAUL

The game kicks off at 4.05pm on Saturday August 3, 2019 at Jack Manski oval, Townsville.

Like PNGBUZZ on Facebook


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here