Lae Snax Tigers win 2019 Cup Final


It was definitely the match up of the the season. The underdogs Kroton Hela Wigmen going up against the most consistent team and the minor premiers in the Digicel Cup 2019 season and a giant when it comes rugby league in PNG, the Lae Snax Tigers.

The first half began in electrifying pace with both sides showing nerves in the opening exchanges until Kafare Amos crossed over for the Tigers with a 4 pointer in the 25th minute. Tigers leading the first half and clinical in their set plays to close off the 1st half 4-0

Second half began almost identical to the the opening minutes of the first half until Gilmo Paul crossed over for the Hela Wigmen as play entered into the final quarter. Snax Tigers showing their experience immediately countered with Kafare Amos picking up his second with 19 minutes remaining and a Charlie Simon successfully converting putting the Tigers in the lead 10 points to 4.

Charlie Simon kicked a field goal within the final 10 minutes of the match with his expertise and experience really showing and an Enock Sine try in the 76th minute put the Digicel Cup trophy in the bag.

Lae Snax Tigers 2019 Grand final winners 15-4.

Like PNGBUZZ on Facebook


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here