PNG Hunters Round 1 team named: Alu to captain


Ila Alu has been named captain along with five (5) debutants for the SP PNG Hunters 2021 Intrust Super Cup round one season opener match against Wynnum Manly Seagulls this Saturday March 20.

The five debutants are Jokadi Bire, Samuel Yegip, Edwin Ipape, Sylvester Namo and Benji Kot. The extended bench comprises of Jeffery Robert, Judah Rimbu, Solo Wane and Norman Brown. Keven Appo will be deputy to Alu.

The 21-man squad is:

  1. Terry WAPI
  2. Junior RAU
  3. Brendan NIMA
  4. Jokadi BIRE
  5. Brendon GOTUNO
  6. Watson BOAS
  7. Charlie SIMON
  8. Enock MAKI
  9. Wartovo PUARA Jnr
  10. Samuel YEGIP
  11. Epel KAPINIAS
  12. Keven APPO (Vice Captain)
  13. Ila ALU (Captain)
  14. Edwin IPAPE
  15. Sylvester NAMO
  16. Emmanuel WAINE
  17. Benji KOT
  18. Jeffery ROBERT
  19. Judah RIMBU
  20. Solo WANE
  21. Norman BROWN

Coach: Matthew Church

This is a ‘home’ game for the SP Hunters at Bycroft oval in Runaway Bay on the Gold Coast.

The team will wear black armbands and observe a minutes silence to pay their respects to late Great Grand Chief Sir Michael Somare before kick-off at 2.40pm on Saturday.

Stay tuned this week as PNGBUZZ keeps you updated.

Like PNGBUZZ on Facebook


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here