Hunters Squad Named, Assistant Coach Announced


Hunters Squad Named

Eleven new faces – Jokedi Bire, Norman Brown, Edwin Ipape, Benji Kot, Sylvester Namo, Gilmor Paul, Solomon Pokare, Judah Rimbu, Jeffery Robert, Solo Wane and Samuel Yegip – have been named in the Final SP PNG Hunters squad for the 2021 Queensland Intrust Super Cup season.

They join Stanton Albert, Ila Alu, Keven Appo, Ase Boas, Casey Dickson, Brendon Gotuno, Joe Joshua, Epel Kapinias, Enock Maki, Brendan Nima, Stanley Olo, Mark Piti, Wartovo Puara Jnr, Junior Rau, Junior Rop, Charlie Simon, Emmanuel Waine and Terry Wapi in the final squad announced in Port Moresby today.

SP Hunters coach Matthew Church said the squad was selected on the way they wanted to play this season.

“The suitability to the Hunters playing style and the introduction of some new game rules were major considered when finalizing the squad,” he said.

Church said six players – Ricko Jimmy, Rhadley Brawa, Sunny Lipu, Ben Kennedy, Jordan Pat and Valentine Culligan (study commitments) – were released.

“It was a tough conversation to have with each player, one part of the job of a coach we don’t look forward to but it’s best to be honest,” he said. “It’s not a flat no but a not now situation and we encouraged them to keep working hard and playing well in the Digicel Cup season,” he said.

SP Brewery Managing Director Ed Weggemans was on hand to witness the Final 29 -man squad (attached) and wished them every success in 2021.

“Congratulations to the selected players. SP Brewery is proud to support the SP Hunters and joins every Papua New Guinean in wishing you the very best, both on and off the field, this season,” Weggeman said.

PNGRFL Chairman Sandis Tsaka acknowledged the invaluable support of SP Brewery and the SP Hunters Board headed by Stan Joyce.

“We are grateful to SP Brewery for their continued support of the SP Hunters in the Intrust Super Cup competition since 2014,” Tsaka said. “This partnership has been extended until 2022.”

He acknowledged the work of Stan Joyce and the SP Hunters Board in ensuring the relocation process and their wellbeing in Queensland is smooth.

The 29-man Hunters squad (in alphabetical order):

  1. Stanton ALBERT
  2. Ila ALU
  3. Keven APPO
  4. Jokedi BIRE
  5. Ase BOAS
  6. Norman BROWN
  7. Casey DICKSON
  8. Brendon GOTUNO
  9. Edwin IPAPE
  10. Joe JOSHUA
  11. Epel KAPINIAS
  12. Benji KOT
  13. Enock MAKI
  14. Sylvester NAMO
  15. Brendan NIMA
  16. Stanley OLO
  17. Gilmor PAUL
  18. Mark PITI
  19. Solomon POKARE
  20. Wartovo PUARA Junior
  21. Junior RAU
  22. Judah RIMBU
  23. Jeffery ROBERT
  24. Junior ROP
  25. Charlie SIMON
  26. Emmanuel WAINE
  27. Solo WANE
  28. Terry WAPI
  29. Samuel YEGIP

Assistant Coach Announced

Paul Aiton as a Kumul (Credit:

PNGRFL a/CEO Stanley Hondina announced the appointment of former PNG Kumul Paul Aiton as assistant coach of the SP Hunters for this season.

“Paul Aiton was Kumul No.214, a former captain represented PNG on 12 occasions and has more than 250 games experience at NRL and Super League level,” the Chairman said. “Paul is currently in Queensland and he will link with the team when they exit the isolation period.”

Meanwhile Hondina said the squad is scheduled to leave for Brisbane on Sunday January 31, 2021.

“They will be based at Runaway Bay in Gold Coast,” Hondina said.
He said there were still many moving parts to the relocation exercise but “are comfortable with the progress thus far.”

He acknowledged the hard working team from QRL, DFAT, Australian High Commission, Home Affairs and QLD Government for their support in ensuring all processes and requirements are met.

Like PNGBUZZ on Facebook


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here