Lae City FC are NSL minor premiers


Defending champion Lae City FC are the minor premiers of the 2019-2020 Kumul Petroleum National Soccer League competition after a nil-all draw with Vitiaz United FC to sit comfortably on 43 points at the top of the ladder ending the normal round of the competition on Saturday.

Vitiaz however made sure to give the defending champions a run for their money matching them in attack and defense.

An attempt by Lae City FC’s Icaza Gustine in the first half saw the ball hit the top of the goal much to the delight of Vitiaz goalie Russell Chris.

Both teams remained scoreless til the final whistle.

In the earlier matches in Port Moresby, FC Bougainville thumped FC Morobe Wawens 4 goals to 1, with two goals to Danny Vetal, and a goal each to Elton Banem and Eaka Philemon, while Morobe Wawens lone goal came from Moses Kamakeng.

Star Mountains FC received a 5-0 beating by Gulf Komara FC.

In Lae at the Sir Ignatius Kilage Stadium Hekari United FC thrashed Tusbab Stallions 3-nil and Morobe United FC defeated Kutubu FC 3 goals to 2.

After round 18 Lae City FC finish on top as minor premiers with 43 points, followed by Hekari FC on 42, in third is Vitiaz United FC on 37 points, and rounding off the top four is Gulf Komara FC on 25 points.

The finals series which will be played in Port Moresby, with the draws to be announced on Wednesday. The grand final is set for October 10th.

Like PNGBUZZ on Facebook


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here